clairejean10

A Blog for Mass Media and the Popular Arts

Is There an App for the Future?

on December 13, 2013

In your last blog post, dig into this discussion of native app versus HTML 5 (listen to Deidre Radio) as if you were a content developer for, say, the Lumberjack student newspaper or KRFH radio. Would it be worth your while to develop a native app for HSU students’ smart phones? Back up your decision with some of observations made by panel members at paidcontent 2013 or outside research.

“Apps will replace channels, remote controls will disappear, and screens will proliferate…” (Mike Snider 2013) The future is in the apps, and all it takes is a touch of your finger and you open a whole new world of technology. The World Wide Web has become the new television because of the newly introduced HTML 5. Technology changes so much, I don’t think I can keep up with it. Last Christmas I got the iPhone 4S and by the next year, iPhone 4S’s were the old and iPhone 5S and C’s were the new. No matter what you get, whether it be a Samsung X Galaxy or an iPhone C, there will always be a better technological gadget coming, its inevitable.

So with all this talk about HTML 5 and the native apps on certain mobile devices, if I were to design a native app for HSU students’ smartphones, I would probably create something that would be relevant for all students. If I were a content developer for the Lumberjack student newspaper, I would probably design an app specifically for myHumboldt. myHumboldt is incredibly easy to navigate within computer desktops and laptops, but having an app on your smart phone device will only make student’s lives a whole lot easier. This app will have instant access to myHumboldt, so it can save your login information and you won’t have to keep signing in every time you need it. Instead of having to use a computer or searching for Humboldt.edu on your iPhone, you can now access myHumboldt with just a touch of your finger. It will save students a whole lot of time and effort. And since myHumboldt has everything you need in one page, the app will have all the same information, but much more organized and easy to navigate. So this might not be the best native app for other people, but with the thousands of students who need and use myHumboldt frequently, I think it will be useful for them.

Every year Humboldt is trying to stay on top of all the technological advances, but if they really want to up their game, they need to start creating applications on all the smartphones that students and faculty use. In a recent article titled, “Smartphone Use by College Students [Infographic]”, “53% of college students own a smartphone and 47% own a feature phone. 92% of college students use their phone during idle time at school or work.” (Payne, 2012) Since students are always on their smartphones, it would make sense that Humboldt should create an application either for educational or entertainment purposes. There’s no lie that smartphones are taking over society because of the apps they have. Humboldt has to stay in the game, otherwise they will be living in iPhone 3S world, and trust me, if you own an iPhone 3s, you’re pretty much living in the past.

Netflix: TV’s Future is in the Apps” Article

http://www.usatoday.com/story/tech/personal/2013/04/25/netflix-vision-tv-equals-apps/2113315/

“Smartphone Use by College Students [Infographic]” Article

http://mysocialgameplan.com/infographics/smartphone-college-students

7 responses to “Is There an App for the Future?

  1. cjw350 says:

    You’re right that HSU really attempts to stay up with technology. I think more is to be done if they want to develop apps. I like the outside research you did. I don’t know where we fall in the average college student demographic though.
    I see what you mean that HSU needs to keep up. Otherwise, by definition, they are falling behind.
    I would love to see a Myhumboldt app before I saw a Lumberjack newspaper app

  2. lld15 says:

    I also don’t think I can completely keep up with the new technology and don’t try because it costs too much money. Need I need to replace my old technology of course I get the newest thing and hope it is good enough to last until I get the next latest tech but it is hard to believe so many people have to spend so much money just to get the latest phone or other tech. I like that you brought up if HSU did create an app it should be for myHumboldt so you have it on your phone or other device and don’t have to log in every time. I think that would be a great useful app, but in reality it might not be the best use of money for the school when they keep cutting programs, classes, and more. People really do use their smartphones daily and they have become very important, but in reality you can still go online on your smartphone and go to the webpage. Webpages are still very useful and can do much more than an app. I like to have the best of both, webpages and apps, but if creating an app for school means having to deal with more cuts elsewhere I don’t know if it is worth it.

  3. ttran2011 says:

    Oh my goodness! Technology is taking over the world! hahaha But seriously, technology does change a lot and it changes pretty fast! I also can’t keep up with it and I know people who do keep up with technology and I think they’re crazy.
    Humboldt State does try its best to keep up with technology and my roommate and I talked about this before, HSU needs and app for myHumboldt. Whenever I want to log on to moodle during class to read notes or to check my grade or to read an assignment, I always have to login with the web browser on my Iphone and it’s very annoying. I also hate how they always log me off! But yes, I totally agree! HSU should create a myHumboldt app for students to use and I do feel like it will be benefit faculty and students in many ways. Awesome blog! 🙂

  4. cah523 says:

    I agree with your statement that suggests it’s darn near impossible to stay current with all the gizmos and gadgets that pop up every year. During the holiday seasons, I walk through stores such as Target, Costco, and Best Buy and feel an overwhelming sense of living in such a technological-centric world. Your statistics highlighting how many students own a iPhone or smart phone/device while not surprising (cynicism I suppose), it’s also a little depressing to see how the younger generation is being affected so heavily with technological advancement.

    In terms of relating to native application and a educational institution such as Humboldt State, I feel like their halfway in and halfway out of the technology pool. The introduction of Moodle into the school curriculum gives the people running the school a chance to dip their toes in the water to find out what works and what doesn’t. As you say, Moodle has been a relative success, but it’s now time to move on to bigger and better things. How long before even more tweaks are made to accommodate phones and their apps within the infrastructure of educational pursuit? I know a few teachers who still include the warning that all technological “toys” won’t be tolerated within class, but they’re in the minority now. What a change from even five years ago.

    Personally, I like the freedom of having my iPhone at my disposal during a long class. For instance, last semester I took a difficult science class to satisfy a requirement and constantly used the voice memo and photo apps. Both apps allowed me to take home useful information from the lectures by recording the teacher and having snapshots of everything she wrote on her white board. I can see the next wave of apps offering an idea such as having the device technically take the notes for you. Imagine a 2-D quill appear on your screen and turn fancy cursive into the notes that you need based on voice activation from the teacher of a particular class. Hey, maybe I should copyright that idea!

    Anyways, I thought your blog was very interesting and wish you luck in the future. Good job!

  5. kh1885 says:

    It would be great to have an app for myhumboldt that didn’t require login information every time one logs in. I am always in myhumboldt checking my e-mail and posts in Moodle.You also bring up good points about the percentage of students who have smart phones and how fast technology is improving.
    Kim

  6. delenaj says:

    It’s interesting to see how far we have come. The cell phone was only created a few decades ago. Look how long it took to create the light bulb! Things are just evolving so fast! Before we know it, the next greatest thing is going to be out and we are going to be obsessed with that as well. I tend to be stuck in my ways. I didn’t get a smart phone until my mom said we are all upgrading. I kept my “not so smart phone” until it pretty much gave up on me. I’m one of those people who likes things the way they are and don’t necessarily want anything to change. I guess I’m pretty stuck in my ways. I always wait for technology and never upgrade because everyone else is.
    Now concerning the apps, I think some of these things are just ridiculous. Seriously, there is an app that lets you make whipping sounds… Why not just go buy a whip? Oh and the lightsaber? Why not just go to Target and buy one? Some of these apps are or really bored people. When I download and app, its for a reason, not just because I have it to have it. Games, tools to help with school and such, I can understand, but why does anyone need a pet rock app?

    • fjp102013 says:

      I agree that technology changes faster than most people can keep up, but that makes me think that Humboldt would be better off investing HTML 5 format. All the new technology that is constantly coming out would each need a different native app. Creating many apps would be very costly for a small institute like Humboldt.

Leave a Reply

SMC Pilgrimage to Rome

Following in the footsteps of the early Christians

ANTH 410

Anthropology Capstone Portfolio

Marc A. Davis Jr.

My professional Anthropology Portfolio

emily agajanian

A Professional Portfolio of an Aspiring Anthropologist

anthropoLogic

culture, language, science

The Narcissistic Anthropologist

Someone has to notice

Primatology.net

We ain’t monkeyin’ around here.

uncovermytheory

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

fjp10blog

JMC 302

Tiffany's JMC 302 Blog! :)

Wanna read?! Go ahead! Read away!!!!

carlosmolina

3rd year CRGS major w/a pathway into Ethnic Studies.

CDUB

JMC

Monica Reynoso

Hi im Monica

conniejoon

JMC 302 Mass Media and Popular Arts

